Atheist

I had stopped looking for God
in the crossfire of my Sunday mornings.
Bitter coffee spiteful
of prayers left unheard and
nightmares laid certain.

I cannot love you.
I have not much left to give. I am
too busy self destructing to love
anyone else’s scars other than
my own. So don’t make me
sing hymns to your name when I
can barely sing myself to sleep.

I cannot love you.
You had made an atheist out
of a devout, blind servant and now the
glaring dimness of stained glass
windows amidst the dull
murmur of trains engines
repulses
me.

Damn me then.

With all those deemed despicable
who had never tasted a drop
of your divine kindness. Scratch my
cheeks with forgiveness, ripping
flesh and bone in
holy intervention.

Damn me then.

Damn me then.

Damn me.

 

Published by

cie miraflor

A Filipino at heart and a Thomasian in spirit. A vocalist. A bookworm. A chocoholic. A liar. A dreamer. A coffee addict. A writer of poetry and short stories. A pending Information Technologist. A frustrated programmer. Blinded with love for Batman.

Leave a Reply

