Blind Love

I’m deeply sorry but darling
I refuse to change for you.
Not even as you promise to kiss
my eyelids awake for every
dawning masterpiece or
against memories vivid and
overwhelmingly consuming.

I’m deeply sorry but darling
I refuse to change for you.
Even if it is in the sound of
your ragged breathing that I find
a handful of our own
sunny afternoons on rainy days
-bashful and lonely.

Even though it is in the safety
of words shared between evening coffee
and home cooked meals left cold
on wooden table tops, that I
no less discover a soup bowl
of daydreams and of sanctuary.

I’m deeply sorry but darling
not even you can pull me back
from every onslaught,
from every war torn gazes
that ravage my mornings
like waves wailing and crashing within.

I’m deeply sorry but darling
it had taken mournful minutes
and a thousand potfuls of bitter tea
to scald away the fingertips
of those who ran too quickly
for me to catch the frailty
of words that had no meaning.

But despite all these.
Despite the sweet frosting
and our muddy footprints.
Despite the fact
that we are no better cooks
of the Italian cuisine.
Despite our unplanned
weekend-long movies
on Netflix.

Darling I promise you.

I’d love nothing more
than to grow with you.

Published by

cie miraflor

A Filipino at heart and a Thomasian in spirit. A vocalist. A bookworm. A chocoholic. A liar. A dreamer. A coffee addict. A writer of poetry and short stories. A pending Information Technologist. A frustrated programmer. Blinded with love for Batman.

Leave a Reply

